Beyond The Pale

On Filtering

I haven’t posted on here in quite some time, not because I’ve not wanted to, but because I’ve not been able to access the site due to the stringent rules set up by the Army’s deployed Websense server. Those of you who keep up with me on Facebook might have noticed more than a little ire regarding this issue in some of my posts.

And now I can post.

I just wanted to make a couple of comments about liberty and why there is some possibility that maybe some of the madness going on in our country will eventually have a positive effect. If websense had been run by some kind of rational human being, and it had not filtered out almost every web site on the internet, I would have been content to work under its restrictions. I would have obeyed the rules. However, the system’s overzealous nature has worked against it. Where it could have only blocked those sites that are most problematic to the austere bandwidth issues that we have out here, aka, Youtube and other streaming sites, and left access to such low bandwidth sites as Io9 and WordPress, it blocked everything that I wanted access to. I could have put up with no access to Youtube, as the restriction makes sense. But because the restrictions were over the top, ridiculous, I went out and found a way to get around them. And now, not only can I post to my WordPress account, but I can also go to Youtube. Thus, the overzealous nature of the system administrators works directly against their goals.

Maybe our increasingly meddlesome government should consider this trait of human nature as it progresses with it’s plans. The Tea party movement, of which I’m NOT a part, isn’t necessarily the result of some cranks getting a hold of the American imagination. It’s the natural bucking against what many Americans see as a progressively dangerous government. Perhaps they should try taking a looser grip on the reigns.

September 14, 2010 - Posted by | Army, Censorship

2 Comments »

  1. “The best way to get a bad law repealed is to enforce it strictly.” – Abraham Lincoln

    To make laws that man cannot, and will not obey, serves to bring all law into contempt. – Elizabeth Cady Stanton

    While these sentiments and yours are not exactly the same I believe the spirit is similar. Man will abide by reasonable infringements upon his liberty if he both understands and agrees with the justification. If the reasoning for the restriction exceeds his understanding or runs counter to his beliefs then he is no longer bound to obey the restriction by his conscience but rather only by the law, and the law alone has long been insufficient to govern men’s behavior.

    Comment by Michael Olson | September 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Agreed.

      Comment by davidjgross | September 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

