Beyond The Pale

Partial 2009 Reading List

I normally post a list of books that I read during the year, and the dates that I read them, but I keep that list in the back of my journal, and I only have one volume of my journal out here in this barren wasteland that I call beautiful, so instead of a list of books for the year, I’m posting a list of books since I started working on the current volume of my journal:

  • Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austin – 8 June 2009
  • When You Are Engulfed in Flames – David Sedaris – 13 June
  • Pride and Prejudice and Zombies – Jane Austin and Seth Grahame Smith – 20 June
  • Replay – Ken Grimwood – 21 June
  • Reading and Writing along the Borderlands – Michael Chabon – 23 June
  • On Bullshit – Harry G. Frankfurt – 27 June
  • I Robot – Isaac Asimov – 30 June
  • Judas Unchained – Richard K. Hamilton – 6 July
  • I Know This Much is True – Wally Lamb – 8 July
  • Warped Passages: Unraveling the Mysteries of the Universe’s Hidden Dimensions – Lisa Randall 23 July
  • Art & Physics – Leonard Shlain – 26 July
  • Quicksilver – Neal Stephenson – 6 August
  • The Yiddish Policemen’s Union – 12 August – Michael Chabon
  • The Clash of Civilizations and the Remaking of World Order – Samuel P. Huntington – 25 August
  • The Fountainhead – Ayn Rand – 28 August
  • The Jungle – Upton Sinclair – 30 August
  • That’s Not in My American History Book – Thomas Ayres – 5 September
  • The Dark Tower Book I: The Gunslinger – Steven King – 12 September
  • Doubt: A History – Jennifer Michael Hecht – 13 September
  • The Structure of Scientific Revolutions – Thomas Khun – 21 September
  • The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime – Mark Haddon – 28 September
  • The Confusion – Neal Stephenson – 28 September
  • Too Much Happiness – Alice Munro – 2 October
  • Beowulf – 8 October
  • Lies My Teacher Told Me: Everything Your American History Textbook Got Wrong – James W. Loen – 10 October
  • Blindspot – Jane Kamensky and Jill Lepore – 11 October
  • Hyperion – Dan Simmons – 24 October
  • The System of the World – Neal Stephenson – 13 November
  • The Dreaming Void – Peter F. Hamilton – 13 November
  • She’s Come Undone – Wally Lamb – 16 November
  • Ringworld – Larry Niven – 22 November
  • The Dark Tower Book II: The Drawing of the Three – 3 December
  • Starship Troopers – Robert A. Heinlein – 7 December
  • Imagine Your Life Without Fear – Max Lucado – 7 December
  • Childhood’s End – Arthur C. Clarke – 17 December
  • Gorgias – Plato 21 December
  • Anathem – Neal Stephenson 31 December 2009

I probably don’t need to say that some of these are great books and others not so great. There are even a few that I’d list as downright horrible. However, rather than clutter up this post by discussing one or two books, I’m going to leave this list as exactly what it is—a list. Maybe over the next couple of days I’ll find some time to say a word or two about some of the books on the list.

January 1, 2010 - Posted by | Reading Lists

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

