Beyond The Pale

A Poem, Bury Me On the Mountain

Bury me on the mountain top where

I’ll become stone and soil to feed

there briars, lizards, and frightened mice

quivering under the bleaching

moon famished in days of dust.

 

Leave my bones to the bees for framing

their house in the arc of my skull

centipedes and serpents a domed cathedral

will make of spars where I once drew breath

food I will be to respite their tired

days, a search of shadow from desert aflame

 

Grown liquid I’ll creep down defiant

spurs across weary draws until

I green in the grass of the valley and

the trees raise me in their veins where

caressed by the wind I’ll be cast aside,

laughing, into the river racing toward sea.

November 1, 2009 - Posted by | Poems

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

